Scheduling

you wouldn’t think “scheduling” would be such a major problem for an anarchy-loving housewife with only two children.  but holy hell!  the squid has basically gone completely nocturnal.  I have no idea how this happened.  she was doing quite awesomely, and now it seems like all day long she’s fussy and wants to sleep, and no matter how much I try to keep her up during the day, she goes to sleep about 11 or midnight and is still promptly up between 1-3am, cooing and giggling and squirming and grabbing and HOLY HELL.

again.

the worst part is that she’s so damn cute about it I can’t even be pissed.  just tired.

actually, no, I take it back.  that is in no way the worst part.  the worst part is simply this:  after being up til between 4 and 6am, I have to get up promptly at 7.15, in order to get the Wizard breakfasted, and ready for school.  now the Wizard, is also somewhat of a night owl, in his own bizarre right.

IE: he’s not really tired in the evening.  no matter what time we put him to bed, he’s awake til between 10-10.30 (unless we actually put him to bed at 10, in which case he is awake til 11.).   however, no matter how late he stays up, he doesn’t sleep in.  except for school days.  and dragging that child out of bed to go to school… is kind of hard to do when you’re going on 2 hours of sleep yourself.  this morning I slept straight through my alarm, and fortunately the Wizard himself awakened at about 7.30, asking if he could watch cartoons.  he made it to the bus, with a couple minutes to spare, but lordy-lordy.  close call.  plus, not having a car means if he DOES miss the bus, I’ve kinda screwed the pooch.  and have to resort to calling inlaws and mooching rides which is… embarassing to say the VERY least.

also, I tend to awaken very gradually.  I need to wake up at least a couple hours before I have intentions of doing anything, so I can get myself thoroughly caffeinated and functioning.  so.  after being up til 5, waking up again at 7, staying up til 8 to get the Wizard on the bus, and then til 9 to get the Squid changed, fed, and back to sleep, and then sometimes 10 just to get myself settled and back to sleep, the odds are I’m not waking up of my own volition before 1:30.  that give me about enough time to caffeinate and shower, and then the Wizards back from school and lo and behold: I have accomplished nothing.  BLAH!

-Domestic Anarchist

Leave a Reply

