BLOG PARTY POST!

About the Party

You can learn all there is to know about the party to join the fun and over at 5 Minutes for Mom’s Ultimate Blog Party 2010 post . They’ll give all the details, buttons and banners. It’s a great way to meet new friends and check out new blogs. I hope you’ll participate!

Don’t forget to follow @5minutesformom and watch hashtag #ubp10 on Twitter

Hello Blog Party!  I’m The Domestic Anarchist and I’ve been blogging for a little over a year now.  I’m a stay-at-home mom and I have two children, The Wizard, who’ll be seven in June, and The Squid who just turned 7 months old.  We enjoy free thought, self-expression, family fun, healthy eating, good music, video games, art and crafts!  I like to think of parenting of a socio-political experiment, where we learn more every day about culture, humanity, our children and ourselves.

Today has been an amazing day, regardless of The Squid working on cutting her lateral incisors (apparently she’s trying to turn into a humbolt squid!).   The Wizard has spent most of the day outside with The Princess next door.  I helped them plant a secret garden, and we had an awesomely easy lunch of chips and guacamole, while we listened to Kimya Dawson.  All day I’ve been singing “A is for Apple, B is for Butt, C is for Cat-butt…” and while The Squid has napped and played, I’ve started knitting her a toy squid, and almost finished a scarf for The Wizards godmother, and somehow even fit in enough time to make a big pot of shitake mushroom soup for my mother, who is fighting breast cancer.  It’s amazing how some days are a such a struggle to get through, and others everything just falls right into place.  …Of course, it does come at a sacrifice.  I haven’t finished the dishes, and there’s a mountain of laundry on the couch.  And life goes on!  I think these easy days are partially luck, and partially me actually taking the time to breathe, relax, and accept that I can’t do everything every day, and as long as my kids are happy and healthy, living with logic and love, that’s what matters.   Whether or not I manage to fold their laundry isn’t going to make a difference in their day, so that’s one of the things I can just… let… go.

-Domestic Anarchist

The Husband and The Squid

11 comments on “BLOG PARTY POST!

  1. Stephanie says:

    Hey chick! Stopping by from the UBP, you caught my interest in the ‘non family friendly’ with me (amid a sea of people who I’m not sure fit there but oh well!)

    If you find a minute come by.

  2. hello from the ultimate blog party 🙂

    burn the laundry. it’ll make you feel better. at least it worked for me…

    • domesticanarchist says:

      LOL! did you actually burn your laundry?! it would be a great moment. I can just picture the flames rising from the bonfire, me raising my fists and laughing with maniacal laughter…

  3. Dayngr says:

    Rock on sister! I surfed in from 5 Minutes for Mom. Looking forward to getting to reading more as we go. If you’d like to read it, my Ultimate Blog Party 2010 post can be found at Dayngrous Discourse. I hope you’ll surf on over and say hello.

  4. jesuisem says:

    I might be in love with you.

    Ok, that might be a little premature. 🙂

    No really … house-wife-ing, free thought, mumbling Kimya lyrics all day, yup, I was right on my first impression. I’m also cruising over from the “Not Family Friendly” part of the UBP. We’re a small group, but at least we can occasionally use the F word.

    • domesticanarchist says:

      how can you tease me like this? not only are you declaring your love, you’re appreciating the coexistance of housewifery and freethought, and recognizing alphabutt lyrics! and then I go to investergate your blog, and nooooooo, it’s not there!

  5. love the pic of dad & son! Too cute! Hope you’re enjoying the party.

  6. Deana Birks says:

    Stopping by from the UBP. I got through about a million blogs in the family friendly list and decided to check out the not-so-friendly and it’s like a breath of fresh air. Woo! I was starting to think I was in the wrong dimension.

  7. Amanda says:

    Dropped by from UBP. Your title caught my eye. I’m a bit more conservative but your blog is decidedly new and different – at least to me. I enjoyed reading it.

  8. Thanks for visiting my blog. I’m glad I visited you back because your blog is unlike any of the others I’ve seen at UBP. So refreshing.

  9. Stopping in from UBP 10. I love your husband’s shirt and the look on his face. They go hand in hand. My 7 month old is cutting something two, either that or she just drools like a squid!

Leave a Reply

