morning ease? yes, please!

This morning, I dragged myself out of bed, minutes before 7, hauled my ass into the kitchen, started the coffee, started pre-heating a frying pan and grabbed my pre-mixed crepe batter out of the refrigerator.  in under 15 minutes, both The Husband and The Wizard were tucking in, the harsh edge of early-morning taken off by the tastiness of a simple breakfast.  and it took minutes!  minutes!

now, I am not a morning person.  to be perfectly honest, my usual modus operandi is to crawl my ass right back into bed once The Wizard and The Husband are off to school.  in my early gropings for coffee pots, I have ran into walls, and had all kinds of coffee making mishaps (IE: forgetting to put the filter in, forgetting to grind beans… I think the weirdest one was when I got confused after we’d been drinking instant coffee, and poured boiling water into the coffee pot), but getting a bowl of batter out of the fridge is just within the range of possibility for me.  and while I may have burned the butter (and smoked up my kitchen a bit) I did not burn a single crepe.  which is proof that this breakfast is idiot-proof.  therefor, I provide you with:

MY FOOL-PROOF GO-TO CREPE RECIPE!

(Makes about 8)

1 1/4 cups whole wheat flour

1/4 cup sugar

1/2 tsp. salt

1 egg, beaten

1 cup milk

1 tsp. vanilla extract

dash of cinnamon

dash of nutmeg

1.  Wisk together your flour, sugar and salt in a bowl, then whisk in egg.  Next, whisk in milk, about 1/4th at a time (otherwise it ends up lumpy, but the problem usually resolves itself overnight anyhow.), lastly, whisk in vanilla, nutmeg and cinnamon.  Then simply cover, and pop it in the fridge overnight.  (if you don’t want to do it the night before, because you’re one of those dreaded “morning people” or it’s the weekend… or you’re one of those homeschoolers that I’m increasingly more jealous of, you only have to refrigerate it for 30 minutes, but it seems to work a bit better if it’s overnight.)

2. next step- good morning!  get your coffee (or tea, whichever is your caffeinated weapon of choice) started, and then get out your batter.  Whisk 1/4 to 1/2 cup water into batter until it is a bit thinner than pancake batter (you’ll learn to eyeball this pretty quick).  grease a nonstick skillet (I only have one non-stick pan, and it’s reserved specifically for crepes and eggs.  it’s my breakfast pan!), and heat over medium-high heat.

3. pour 1/4 cup batter into your skillet, and then tilt the pan, sort of swirling the batter around the bottom til it coats your pan nice and thin.  cook a couple minutes, til the center no longer looks wet and the edges get slightly brown.  flip, and cook about 30 seconds more.

4.  slather them with whatever filling you choose, fold into quarters, and call ’em fancy!  (we usually opt for peanut butter or almond butter, to make for early-morning protein to prevent the mid-morning stupids).

5.  if you’re one of those returning-to-bed k1inda kids, your leftover batter can be re-chilled, but you’re going to use considerably less water, or else your batter will just run all over the pan and… yeah, it doesn’t work.

I have an odd feeling I’ve blogged this recipe in the past… oh well, it’s one of my favorites, one of the only things I actually use a recipe for, and cut me a break, folks, it’s morning!

and this isn’t going to be one of those back-to-bed mornings, as The Squid woke up right before The Wizard headed out the door, which meant that we got to sit and scarf crepes together (mine slathered with peanut butter and jelly, hers plain), and had an enjoyable breakfast giggling at eachother in early-morning stupidity, me grinning at her over my coffee, her grinning back over her diluted apple juice.  and NOW that I am two cups of coffee in, NOW she decides to go back to sleep.

gasp!  free time?!  how novel!  how bizarre!  what to do with it?  shall I wash the breakfast dishes?  shall I mop the floor which cries out desperately for it?  or shall I google bento boxes?

BENTOS WIN!

Obentos are my new obsession.  I need to get a bento box that’ll fit in The Wizards lunchbox (I know it’s redundant, but it’s a Super Mario Bros. lunchbox from ’83, and there’s no way he’d replace it with anything!), so I can start turning some out.  I love anything where I can combine creativity and housewifery, and what’s more “mom” than packing cute lunches?

my favorite Bento Blogs:

www.bentoanarchy.com/ Bento Anarchy (okay, yes, I originally looked at it due to the anarchy reference) is fabulous, because she’s a bento-ing mom with a toddler, and she’s a vegetarian.  I don’t necessarily agree with all of her food choices, but damn, are her kidster boxes adorable.

http://bentozen.wordpress.com/ you haven’t seen a cool bento til you scroll down and check out “Robot Love Bento”.  Her robots are blue potatoes, ham and carrots.  also veggie.  badass.  The Wizard would shit himself with joy.

http://lunchbucketbento.blogspot.com/ these are grown-up bentos.  not as cute, but no less well put-together, brilliant use of leftovers.  makes me want to start making school lunches for The Husband as well.  (he has a lunchbox too.  it’s Tranformers.  ’84.)

well, I guess I should get the breakfast dishes washed.  good morning!

-Domestic Anarchist

Leave a Reply

